Medical ANAPIX, imagery real time of the skin

December 2017

SKINAPP : the imagery real time of the skin for the dermatologists and health professionals

SKINSHOT : the useful selfie for the individuals

Medical ANAPIX is specialized in the optical imagery of the skin,

- light and communicating because she calls on the capacities of the smartphones to acquire the images and to diffuse them,

- interactive because these images are available, easy to handle and transferable in real time on Internet via web-applications,

- innovating, because several algorithms from the machine learning can be solicited to analyze them, to detect the melanomas in particular.

Medical ANAPIX thus proposes:

- a service for the dermatologists and general doctors which deals with all their requirements in optical imagery for the lesions for the skin. An application on smartphone makes it possible to make photography of it easily, while their analysis can be carried out immediately or remote on a local or distant computer. The small lesions, in particular mélanocytaires (beauty spots) profit from a treatment specific for a help to the diagnosis and the therapeutic decision if they are acquired using an objective dermoscopic (flunks with annular lighting) set at the objective of the smartphone.

- an application functioning on smartphone, for the general public, allowing each one to make the inventory of fixtures of its beauty spots (and those of its family) and to locate the lesions at the risk likely to become melanomas which thus should be supervised.

Interview of Bernard FERTIL, President ofmedical ANAPIX
  • Editorial Committee: Where would you situate your company's innovation?

Bernard FERTIL (BF) : Cancers represent the first cause of mortality in France (30% of the deaths). In 2012, in the European Union of the 27.82 100 new cases of melanoma were listed. Mortality by melanoma is estimated at 15,700 deaths. In the USA, in 2013, the last estimates give 76,690 new cases of invading melanoma and 9,480 deaths charged to the melanoma (either 1 death every hour). It is the 5th most common cancer among the men and women. Detected at an early stage, the melanoma is cured in the majority of the cases by simple a excérèse (the lesion is removed surgically). Discovered at a late stage, the survival of the patient is concerned because in particular of the propensity of the melanoma to induce metastases via the lymphatic system. Thus, it is advisable to detect an abnormally evolving beauty spot as soon as possible.

However, it is very paradoxical to note that the dermatologists, whose significant portion of the medical expertise is founded on the visual examination of the lesions however call very little on the digital imagery, contrary to radiologists and other experts already strongly equipped (ophtalmologists, echographists, dental surgeons…). At most they use magnifying glasses to observe structures in detail (dermoscope), specific lightings to reveal specific cutaneous infections (lamp of Wood). However, the whole of the profession agrees to say that the digital imagery could do many favours to them (followed by the evolution of the lesions, diagnosis computer-assisted, tele diagnosis, filing, teaching…). Actually, the only specific systems which would enable them to acquire images, to visualize them instantaneously and to file them strongly interfere with their daily practice, have a closed structure and a prohibitory cost (>15 K€).

In addition, the general public is sensitized more and more with the tracking of the melanoma. However, because of strong decrease amongst dermatologists and of the ignorance of the general practitioners on this question, it is difficult to obtain, in a reasonable time, a consultation which either would reassure the patient, or would allow an early tracking largely supporting its chances of survival.

  • EC: How did you go about developing your project?

BF : The proposed offer today by the company is the 8 year old fruit of R & D at the laboratory of and the system information sciences (LSIS, UMR CNRS 6168 of the Aix-Marseilles University) in collaboration with Professeur Jean-Jacques GROB, Chief of the Service of Dermatologist-vénérologie in CHU de Marseille. The algorithms designed within the framework of this academic research required the availability of images of lesions to build them (this operation is carried out by training supervised starting from images). We had thus developed a chain of acquisition of these images allowing to recover them with the source, with the cabinet of the dermatologists. To use these algorithms thereafter, It was also necessary to be able to have images of lesions obtained in a medical context. The creation of a startup seemed the best means to implement them in the true life, those of the health professionals and the patients. The South-eastern SATT dealt with part of the maturation of the interface of use, a secure waiter health was requested to manage the whole of the data-processing transactions related to the management of the patient files associated with the images.

  • EC: What actions and deployments are currently in the pipeline?

BF : The management and the analysis of the images are done by means of the web-application SKINAPP which integrates features different according to type of user: A first version of the module DIAMELA, tool of assistance to the diagnosis of the melanomas intended for the dermatologists, will be marketed at the beginning of 2018. The clinical evaluation of this medical device proceeded of March 2010 at the end of 2012. It presents performances at least equal to those of an expert dermatologist. The module SKINAN, whose clinical trials are in hand, is addressed, as for him, with the health professionals not dermatologists (general doctors included). It is a tool of decision-making aid therapeutic concerning the small lesions of the skin. It automatically sorts the images acquired by these not - specialists not to address to the dermatologists who “suspect” images for an TV-expert testimony, and thus to limit the intervention of the specialists to the relevant cases.

The application Smartphone SKINSHOT for the general public is founded on a classifior of lesions mélanocytaires specifically designed to locate the original lesions. It exploits for that the sign of diagnosis of the Ugly Duckling (world exclusiveness).

All medical products ANAPIX fall under an optics of evolution towards TV-expert testimony in dermatology, that it automatic or is assisted by dermatologists recruited for this purpose. Several research projects are in hand, concerning inter alia the evaluation with clinical trials of our module of early detection of the melanoma, the optimization of the assistance to the diagnosis brought to the dermatologists of module DIAMELA by iconographic impregnation, the management of the exchanges between general doctors and dermatologists, within the framework of the course of care and the opinion request of expert testimony.

  • EC: Why did you join the SCS Cluster?

BF: According to its own terms, the SCS Cluster is presented in the form of “an inevitable actor and recognized in the field as of secure communicating solutions”! It seems to me that this definition includes our activity well and justifies our adhesion fully.

 

  • EC: Has the SCS Cluster brought you what you were looking for?

BF : Once member of the SCS Cluster, which marks more is its dynamism and its relevance. We are regularly solicited by them for various well targeted actions and their assistance is very notable. Thus, for example, we currently profit from their support to present a request for subsidy to the area.

  • EC: What do you expect of the Cluster in the future?

BF: A startup as ours initially needs a maximum of exposure for its products and solutions. We currently launch an early campaign of tracking of the melanoma near the great groups and great organizations concerned with the health of their staffs. We also wish to diffuse our application SKINSHOT bound for the general public. There is no doubt that the audience of the SCS Cluster is an excellent ground with this intention.

Contact:

FERTIL Bernard

Postal address: 100 impasse des Houillères, 13590 Meyreuil

Phone: 06 63 77 02 01

Email: bernard.fertil@anapix-medical.com

Website: www.anapix-medical.com

Twitter: @anapixmedical

LinkedIn: Medical ANAPIX

Facebook: anapixmedical

 
December 2017

ANAPIX medical, imagerie temps réel de la peau

Décembre, 2017

SKINAPP : l’imagerie temps réel de la peau pour les dermatologues et professionnels de santé

SKINSHOT : le selfie utile pour les particuliers

ANAPIX medical est spécialisée dans l’imagerie optique de la peau,

- légère et communicante car elle fait appel aux capacités des smartphones pour acquérir les images et les diffuser,

- interactive car ces images sont disponibles, manipulables et transférables en temps réel sur internet par l’intermédiaire de web-applications,

- innovante, car plusieurs algorithmes issus du machine learning peuvent être sollicités pour les analyser, pour détecter notamment les mélanomes.

ANAPIX medical propose donc :

- un service pour les dermatologues et médecins généralistes qui prend en charge tous leurs besoins en imagerie optique des lésions de la peau. Une application sur smartphone permet d’en faire la photographie aisément, tandis que leur analyse peut être effectuée immédiatement ou en différé sur un ordinateur local ou distant. Les petites lésions, notamment mélanocytaires (grains de beauté) bénéficient d’un traitement spécifique pour une aide au diagnostic et à la décision thérapeutique si elles sont acquises à l’aide d’un objectif dermoscopique (loupe avec éclairage annulaire) fixé à l’objectif du smartphone.

- une application fonctionnant sur smartphone, pour le grand public, permettant à chacun de faire l’état des lieux de ses grains de beauté (et de ceux de sa famille) et de repérer les lésions à risque susceptibles de devenir des mélanomes qu’il faut donc surveiller.

Interview de Bernard FERTIL, Président d'ANAPIX medical
  • Comité Editorial : Dans quel contexte s’inscrit votre innovation ?

Bernard FERTIL (BF) : Les cancers représentent la première cause de mortalité en France (30 % des décès). En 2012, dans l’Union européenne des 27, 82 100 nouveaux cas de mélanome ont été recensés. La mortalité par mélanome est estimée à 15 700 décès. Aux USA, en 2013, les dernières estimations donnent 76 690 nouveaux cas de mélanome envahissant et 9 480 décès imputés au mélanome (soit 1 décès toutes les heures). C’est le 5ème cancer le plus commun chez les hommes et les femmes. Détecté à un stade précoce, le mélanome est guéri dans la grande majorité des cas par une simple excérèse (la lésion est enlevée chirurgicalement). Découvert à un stade tardif, la survie du patient est en jeu en raison notamment de la propension du mélanome à induire des métastases via le système lymphatique. Ainsi, il convient de détecter au plus tôt un grain de beauté évoluant anormalement.

Or, il est très paradoxal de constater que les dermatologues, dont une part importante de l’expertise médicale est fondée sur l’examen visuel des lésions font cependant très peu appel à l’imagerie numérique, à l’inverse des radiologues et autres praticiens déjà fortement équipés (ophtalmologues, échographistes, chirurgiens-dentistes…). Tout au plus utilisent-ils des loupes pour observer des structures en détail (dermoscope), des éclairages spécifiques pour faire apparaître des infections cutanées spécifiques (lampe de Wood). Pourtant, l’ensemble de la profession s’accorde à dire que l’imagerie numérique pourrait leur rendre de nombreux services (suivi de l’évolution des lésions, diagnostic assisté par ordinateur, télé diagnostic, archivage, enseignement…). En réalité, les seuls systèmes spécifiques qui leur permettraient d’acquérir des images, de les visualiser instantanément et de les archiver interfèrent fortement avec leur pratique quotidienne, ont une structure fermée et un coût prohibitif (>15 K€).

Par ailleurs, le grand public est de plus en plus sensibilisé au dépistage du mélanome. Or, du fait de la forte décroissance du nombre de dermatologues et de la méconnaissance des généralistes sur cette question, il est difficile d’obtenir, dans un temps raisonnable, une consultation qui soit rassurerait le patient, soit permettrait un dépistage précoce favorisant grandement ses chances de survie.

  • CE : Comment avez-vous élaboré votre projet ?

BF : L’offre proposée aujourd’hui par la société est le fruit de 8 ans de R&D au laboratoire des sciences de l’information et des systèmes (LSIS, UMR CNRS 6168 de l’Université Aix-Marseille) en collaboration avec le Professeur Jean-Jacques GROB, Chef du Service de Dermato-vénérologie au CHU de Marseille. Les algorithmes conçus dans le cadre de ces recherches académiques nécessitaient la disponibilité d’images de lésions pour les construire (cette opération est réalisée par apprentissage supervisé à partir d’images). Nous avions donc développé une chaine d’acquisition de ces images permettant de les récupérer à la source, au cabinet des dermatologues. Pour utiliser par la suite ces algorithmes, Il fallait aussi pouvoir disposer d’images de lésions obtenues dans un contexte médical. La création d’une startup est apparue comme le meilleur moyen pour les mettre en oeuvre dans la vraie vie, celles des professionnels de santé et des patients. La SATT Sud-Est a pris en charge une partie de la maturation de l’interface d’utilisation, un serveur santé sécurisé a été sollicité pour gérer l’ensemble des transactions informatiques liées à la gestion des dossiers patients associés aux images.

  • CE : Quels sont vos actions et déploiements actuels ?

BF : La gestion et l’analyse des images se fait au moyen de la web-application SKINAPP qui intègre des fonctionnalités différentes en fonction de type d’utilisateur : Une première version du module DIAMELA, outil d’aide au diagnostic des mélanomes destiné aux dermatologues, sera commercialisée début 2018. L’évaluation clinique de ce dispositif médical s’est déroulée de mars 2010 à fin 2012. Il présente des performances au moins égales à celles d’un dermatologue expert. Le module SKINAN, dont les essais cliniques sont en cours, s’adresse, quant à lui, aux professionnels de santé non dermatologues (médecins généralistes inclus). C’est un outil d’aide à la décision thérapeutique concernant les petites lésions de la peau. Il trie automatiquement les images acquises par ces non spécialistes pour n’adresser aux dermatologues que les images « suspectes » en vue d’une télé-expertise, et ainsi limiter l’intervention des spécialistes aux cas pertinents.

L’application Smartphone SKINSHOT pour le grand public est fondée sur un classifieur de lésions mélanocytaires spécifiquement conçu pour repérer les lésions originales. Il exploite pour cela le signe de diagnostic du Vilain Petit Canard (exclusivité mondiale).

Tous les produits ANAPIX medical s’inscrivent dans une optique d’évolution vers la télé-expertise en dermatologie, qu’elle soit automatique ou assistée par des dermatologues recrutés à cet effet. Plusieurs projets de recherche sont en cours, concernant entre autres l’évaluation par essais cliniques de notre module de détection précoce du mélanome, l’optimisation de l’aide au diagnostic apporté aux dermatologues du module DIAMELA par imprégnation iconographique, la gestion des échanges entre médecins généralistes et dermatologues, dans le cadre du parcours de soins et de la demande d’avis d’expertise.

  • CE : Pourquoi avez-vous adhéré au Pôle SCS ?

BF: Selon ses propres termes, le pôle SCS se présente comme « l’acteur incontournable et reconnu dans le domaine des solutions communicantes sécurisées » ! Il me semble que cette définition englobe bien notre activité et justifie pleinement notre adhésion.

 

  • CE : Le Pôle SCS vous a-t-il apporté ce que vous recherchiez ?

BF : Une fois membre du pôle, ce qui marque le plus est son dynamisme et sa pertinence. Nous sommes régulièrement sollicités par eux pour différentes actions bien ciblées et leur aide est très notable. Ainsi, par exemple, nous bénéficions actuellement de leur soutien pour présenter une demande de subvention à la région.

  • CE : Qu’attendez-vous du Pôle demain ?

BF: Une startup comme la nôtre a besoin dans un premier temps d’un maximum d’exposition de ses produits et solutions. Nous lançons actuellement une campagne de dépistage précoce du mélanome auprès des grands groupes et grands organismes concernés par la santé de leurs personnels. Nous souhaitons aussi diffuser notre application SKINSHOT à destination du grand public. Nul doute que l’audience du pôle est un excellent terrain pour ce faire.

Contact

FERTIL Bernard

Adresse Postale : 100 impasse des Houillères, 13590 Meyreuil

Téléphone: 06 63 77 02 01

Mail : bernard.fertil@anapix-medical.com

Site Web: www.anapix-medical.com

Twitter: @anapixmedical

Linkedin: ANAPIX medical

Facebook: anapixmedical

 
Décembre, 2017