Tiempo Secure - Enabling innovative, secure products

March 2017

Tiempo Secure specializes in the design and industrialization of innovative, high-performance microcontrollers and cryptoprocessors for secure applications.

Tiempo Secure offers a family of secure microcontrollers that have received Common Criteria EAL5+ and EMVCo certification, with a dual interface (contact/contactless) for secure payemnt and identification applications, as well as secure elements for connected objects (IoT).

Interview with Serge Maginot, CEO of Tiempo Secure
  • Editorial Committee: Where would you situate your company's innovation?

Serge Maginot (SM): Our innovation responds to increasing critical needs for securing and protecting the confidentiality of data conveyed wirelessly and on networks. We offer a range of secure, certified microcontrollers developed using an innovative technology that provides improved security against hardware attacks, better performance, and reduced energy consumption. These factors are all fundamental for ensuring the hardware security of banking payments and data transmitted by connected objects.

  • EC: How did you go about developing your project?

SM: After founding our company, we spent our first years developing a synthesis tool and a design flow to industrially implement and test clockless integrated circuits. We went on to use this technique and this flow - both unique of their kind and able to provide these advantages in terms of security, speed and consumptoin - to develop our own secure microcontroller. Finally, we invested to obtain the CC EAL5+ and EMVCo certification of our buildings, our development flow and our first secure product, TESIC-SC, and we developed an industrial manufacturing, testing and delivery chain for this product with the help of our partners.

  • EC: What actions and deployments are currently in the pipeline?

SM: Our TESIC-SC product is currently in the final qualification phase before being ready for large-scale production in the second half of 2017. We are also working with European and Asian partners for porting operating systems and applications to this product. Lastly, in 2016 we started the R&D development of a family of secure elements for the IoT market.

  • EC: Why did you join the SCS Cluster?

SM: Our company's offering is based on two cornerstones: an innovative microelectronic design technology, and a rare form of expertise in the security of integrated circuits and embedded software, validated by the CC EAL5+ certification of our TESIC-SC circuit and of its library of cryptographic functions. This specialization, along with our industrial activity in the security field, has led us to work with a host of players in the PACA region such as Gemalto, Invia, Presto Engineering, SPS and the Micro-PackS platform, which quite naturally led to our membership with the SCS Cluster.

  • EC: Has the SCS Cluster brought you what you were looking for?

SM: Although we only joined up recently, we already greatly appreciate the SCS Cluster's extraordinary support for setting up collaborative projects and providing access to highly relevant information in our field of activity. So, yes, I would say that the SCS Cluster has indeed brought us what we were looking for regarding these services.

  • EC: What do you expect of the Cluster in the future?

SM: We hope that it will continue to provide us with access to information concerning the security ecosystem, allow us to take part in networking actions despite the fact that we are located some distance away, and help us to promote an exacting, high-tech vision of the security of components and systems.

Contact:

Serge Magimot

Postal address: 110 rue Blaise Pascal, 38330 Montbonnot St-Martin France

Tel./Fax: +33 (0)4 76 61 10 00. E-mail: contact@tiempo-secure.com

Website: www.tiempo-secure.com

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/sergemaginot

 
January 2018

Tiempo Secure - Enabling innovative secure products

Mars, 2017

Tiempo Secure est spécialisée dans la conception et l’industrialisation de microcontrôleurs et crypto-processeurs innovants et performants pour applications sécurisées.

Tiempo Secure propose une famille de microcontrôleurs sécurisés et certifiés Critères Communs EAL5+ et EMVCo avec interface duale (avec/sans contact) pour applications de paiement et d’identification sécurisées, ainsi que des éléments sécurisés pour les objets connectés (IoT).

Interview de Serge Maginot, Président de Tiempo Secure
  • Comité Editorial : Dans quel contexte s’inscrit votre innovation ?

Serge Maginot (SM) : Notre innovation répond aux besoins critiques croissants de sécurisation et de protection de la confidentialité des données transmises sans fil et sur les réseaux. Nous offrons ainsi une gamme de microcontrôleurs sécurisés et certifiés, développés dans une technologie innovante offrant une meilleure sécurisation contre les attaques hardware, de meilleures performances et une moindre consommation énergétique, propriétés fondamentales pour la sécurisation matérielle des paiements bancaires comme pour celle des données transmises par les objets connectés.

  • CE : Comment avez-vous élaboré votre projet ?

SM: Pendant les premières années suivant la création de notre société, nous avons d’abord développé un outil de synthèse et un flot de conception permettant d’implémenter et de tester de manière industrielle des circuits intégrés sans horloge. Nous avons ensuite utilisé cette technique et ce flot, uniques dans leur genre et permettant d’apporter ces avantages en sécurité, vitesse et consommation, pour développer notre propre microcontrôleur sécurisé. Enfin, nous avons investi pour obtenir la certification CC EAL5+ et EMVCo de nos locaux, de notre flot de développement et de notre premier produit sécurisé, TESIC-SC, et avons développé une chaîne industrielle de fabrication, de test et de livraison de ce produit avec l’aide de nos partenaires.

  • CE : Quels sont vos actions et déploiements actuels?

SM: Notre produit TESIC-SC est actuellement en phase de qualification finale en vue d’être prêt pour une production en volume au second semestre 2017. Nous collaborons également avec des partenaires européens et asiatiques pour le portage de systèmes d’exploitation et d’applicatifs sur ce produit. Enfin, nous avons démarré en 2016 le développement R&D d’une famille d’éléments sécurisés pour le marché de l’IoT.

  • CE : Pourquoi avez-vous adhéré au Pôle SCS ?

SM: L’offre de notre société repose sur deux fondations : une technologie de conception en microélectronique innovante et une expertise rare en sécurisation de circuits intégrés et de logiciels embarqués, validée par la certification CC EAL5+ de notre circuit TESIC-SC et de sa bibliothèque de fonctions cryptographiques. Cette spécialisation et notre activité industrielle dans le domaine de la sécurité nous ont amené à collaborer avec de nombreux acteurs de la région PACA comme les sociétés Gemalto, Invia, Presto Engineering, SPS et la plate-forme Micro-PackS, ce qui a motivé tout naturellement notre adhésion au Pôle SCS

  • CE : Le Pôle SCS vous a-t-il apporté ce que vous recherchiez ?

SM: Bien que notre adhésion soit relativement récente, nous avons déjà pu largement apprécier le soutien extraordinaire de l‘équipe du Pôle SCS pour le montage de projet collaboratif et l’accès à de nombreuses informations très pertinentes dans notre secteur d’activité. Donc, oui, le Pôle SCS nous a bien apporté ce que nous recherchions sur ces prestations.

  • CE : Qu’attendez-vous du Pôle demain ?

SM: Que le Pôle SCS continue à nous faire bénéficier de la qualité de son soutien pour l’accès aux informations sur la vie de l’écosystème sécurité, nous permettent de participer à des actions de networking malgré notre éloignement géographique et nous aide à promouvoir une vision exigeante et high-tech de la sécurisation des composants et systèmes.

Contact

Serge MAGINOT

Adresse Postale : 110 rue Blaise Pascal, 38330 Montbonnot St-Martin

Tél/ Fax: 04 76 61 10 00 - Mail : contact@tiempo-secure.com

Site Web: www.tiempo-secure.com

Linkedin: www.linkedin.com/in/sergemaginot

 
Octobre, 2017