The purpose of  industrial property is to protect and support the development of inventions, innovations and creations in the technical (patents, plant procurement certificates, topography of semiconductors), and decorative (designs and models) fields and in terms of unique characteristics (brand, trade name, corporate names, logos, domain names, designations of origin, indications of source, etc).
It is a subset of intellectual property which also covers literary and artistic property.

Industrial property in the economic and industrial context

Industrial property is an important competitive tool for businesses. The objective of the public authorities is to create favourable conditions for their development (particularly at an international level). The role of industrial property is to protect an innovation as far upstream in the process as possible, e.g. at the design stage of an invention; a further objective is to enable industrial property rights holders (businesses, independent inventors) to develop and optimize the income from the use of their inventions.

To help you in your course of action relating to industrial property, the SCS Cluster regularly send out invitations to the information meetings and training workshops organized by the CCI (Chamber of Commerce and Industry) and the INPI (France's National Institute of Intellectual Property).

Useful links

  • Guide to intellectual property in competitive clusters

Directory of useful address to know

  • Various services provided by France's National Institute of Industrial Protection (INPI):

  - Intellectual property news and seminars

 - Free databases

 - How to protect your designs?

 - Documentation resources from the INPI

  • Practical guides from the Directorate General for Competitiveness, Industry and Services (DGCIS):

- Practical guide “SME, think intellectual property”

This guide is aimed at SME directors, members of competitive clusters and SME development partners, whether they are specialists in industrial property or not, and, in a broader sense, for all people in charge of key corporate functions (strategy, R&D, purchasing, finance, HR, monitoring, etc.).

- Practical guide: “SMEs, the importance of combining intellectual property and standardization

This guide is intended for SME directors and, more broadly, people in charge of key corporate functions (strategy, R&D, purchasing, finance, HR, monitoring, etc.). It is also intended for SME development partners (INPI, IEEPI, OSEO, DIRECCTE, CCI, MEDEF, professional associations, chartered accountants, lawyers, industrial property advisors, consultants, etc.).

 
October 2017

Propriete Industrielle

La propriété industrielle a pour objet de protéger et de permettre la valorisation des inventions, des innovations et des créations dans les domaines techniques (brevets, certificats d’obtention végétale, topographie de semi-conducteurs), ornementaux (dessins et modèles) et des signes distinctifs (marque, nom commercial, dénominations sociales, enseignes, noms de domaines, appellations d’origine, indications de provenance, etc.).
C’est un sous-ensemble de la propriété intellectuelle, qui couvre également la propriété littéraire et artistique.

La propriété industrielle dans le contexte économique et industriel

La propriété industrielle est un outil important de la compétitivité des entreprises. L’objectif des pouvoirs publics est de créer des conditions favorables à leur développement (notamment à l’international). La propriété industrielle a pour vocation de protéger l’innovation le plus en amont possible, dès le stade de la conception d’une invention; elle a également pour objectif de permettre aux titulaires de droits de propriété industrielle (entreprises, inventeurs indépendants) de valoriser et d’optimiser les revenus tirés de l’exploitation de leurs inventions.

Pour vous aider dans vos démarches liés à la Propriété Industrielle, le Pôle SCS relaye régulièrement les invitations aux réunions d'information et ateliers de formation organisées par les CCI (Chambre de Commerce et d' Industrie) et l'INPI ( Institut National de la Propriété Intellectuelle).

Liens Utiles

  • Guide de la Propriété Intellectuelle dans les Pôles de compétitivité

Annuaire des Bonnes Adresses à connaitre

  • Les différents services de l'Institut National de le Protection Industrielle (INPI):

  - Actualités Propriété Intellectuelles et Séminaires

 - Base de données gratuites

 - Comment protéger vos créations?

 - Les ressources documentaires de l'INPI

  • Les Guides Pratiques de la Direction Générale de la Compétitivité, de l'Industrie et des Services (DGCIS):

- Guide Pratique "PME, pensez la Propriété Intellectuelle"

Ce guide s’adresse aux dirigeants de PME, aux adhérents des pôles de compétitivité, aux partenaires du développement des PME, qu’ils soient ou non spécialistes de la propriété industrielle et, plus largement, à tous les responsables des principales fonctions des entreprises (stratégie, R&D, achats, finances, RH, veille…)

- Guide Pratique "PME, pensez à allier Propriété Intellectuelle et Normalisation

Ce guide s’adresse aux dirigeants de PME et, plus largement, à tous les responsables des principales fonctions des entreprises (stratégie, R&D, achats, finances, RH, veille…). Il est également destiné aux partenaires du développement des PME (INPI, IEEPI, OSEO, DIRECCTE, CCI, MEDEF, fédérations professionnelles, experts-comptables, avocats, conseils en PI, consultants…)

 
Octobre, 2014